Cart 0 item(s) View Cart Sign In

Quatuor Arthur-LeBlanc

The Quatuor Arthur-LeBlanc, composed of violinists Hibiki Kobayashi and Brett Molzan, violist Jean-Luc Plourde, and cellist Ryan Molzan, is widely recognized as one of Canada’s finest string ensembles; the group recently made its debut at Carnegie Hall. As of September 2005, the QAL proudly assumed the role of quartet-in-residence at the Université Laval in Quebec City. In addition to their role as invited professors in the Laval string faculty, the members of the QAL continue to pursue the highest levels of artistic excellence. Performing some 60 concerts a year, the quartet is frequently invited to play on Canada’s major concert stages and it regularly tours abroad. The quartet has been warmly appreciated at numerous festivals including Ottawa, Festival of the Sound, Domaine Forget, Orford, Ravinia, and Santander (Spain). Programs have included appearances with such distinguished artists as cellists Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi and Janos Starker; pianists Anton Kuerti, Marc-André Hamelin, Stéphane Lemelin, and Dang Thai Son; clarinettist James Campbell; and the Shostakovich, Orford, and Kocian Quartets.

Named after the great Acadian violinist, the Arthur-LeBlanc Quartet was founded at the Université de Moncton in 1988 and continues to build a chamber music culture in the region. With the establishment of its residency at Université Laval, the QAL has forged a strong artistic and educational link between these institutions.

The QAL’s strong commitment to new music, especially from Quebec and across Canada, has led it to commission and premiere works by composers André Prévost, Kelly-Marie Murphy, Vincent Collard, Jacques Desjardins, Martin Valcke, and Anita Sleeman.

Pierné - Vierne: Quintettes pour piano
Quatuor Arthur-LeBlanc
January, 2015
Roland Dyens
May, 2007