Cart 0 item(s) View Cart Sign In

CD booklet Reviews
ACD22395 - June, 2012

Bouliane - Gougeon - Rea

Denis Gougeon’s Mutation, which won the 2011 Conseil québécois de la musique Opus Prize for composition of the year, is one of the four works on this new disc from the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne directed by Lorraine Vaillancourt. This is the seventh NEM disc on the ATMA label.

Accordionist Joseph Petric is the featured soloist in En accordéon, another piece by Denis Gougeon. The other composers represented are Denys Bouliane, whose series of pieces Rythmes et échos des rivages anticostiens comprise his first attempt to re-create the music of his ancestors, the inhabitants of Anticosti Island; and John Rea, who in Singulari-T, a work commissioned by the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne and dedicated to its artistic director, Lorraine Vaillancourt, pays homage to György Ligeti.

Founded in 1989 by pianist and conductor Lorraine Vaillancourt, the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM) is a chamber orchestra of 15 musicians. It delivers a convincing interpretation of today’s musics by granting them the time and attention they deserve. Ensemble in residence at the Faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal, the NEM has performed concerts in Canada, the United States, Mexico, Japan, Australia, China and Singapore, as well as in seven European countries. More than 130 works have been composed for the ensemble.



Tous les titres


Disque No 1

Rythmes et échos des rivages anticostiens
Bouliane, Denys
En accordéon
Gougeon, Denis
Gougeon, Denis
Rea, John